Deutsch Contact Directions Sitemap

Mission Statement of the CFR

The Centre for Financial Research (CFR) is a research institute at the University of Cologne and conducts independent, cutting-edge research of practical relevance in the area of financial markets. The CFR is an initiative of Professor Dr. Alexander Kempf and Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. Axel Weber. It was founded in 2004.

The central goal of the CFR is to generate new knowledge in the field of financial markets and thus to contribute to the solution of problems arising in practice. Currently, the main focus of the CFR is asset management and risk management. As a competence centre for research on financial markets the CFR benefits from the existing research competence at the University of Cologne and international research cooperations.

The results of our research will be available via three channels:

Firstly, the results will be presented at relevant international conferences and will be published in renowned, relevant journals. This constitutes the basis for establishing a good reputation of the CFR in the research community.

Secondly, the research will be available to those practitioners, for whom it is immediately relevant. Good communication between theory and practice allows on the one hand feedback from practitioners to inform research projects and on the other hand it allows early access for practitioners to new knowledge and methods.

The third way in which knowledge will be channeled is the transfer to students via lectures. The aim is to provide additional training in the field of financial markets for top students in Cologne.

In addition, the involvement of particularly talented students in research projects of the CFR is planned. The goal is to create strong links between students and the CFR and those individuals and organizations collaborating with the CFR.

CFR Sponsors      

www.cfr-cologne.de | © 2004-2017 | webmaster

English Kontakt Anfahrt Sitemap

Zielsetzung des CFR

Das Centre for Financial Research (CFR) ist ein Forschungsinstitut an der Universität zu Köln, das unabhängige, angewandte Spitzenforschung im Bereich der Finanzmärkte betreibt. Es wurde 2004 auf Initiative der Professoren Dr. Alexander Kempf und Dr. Dr. h.c. Axel A. Weber gegründet.

Zentrales Anliegen des CFR ist es, neues Wissen im Bereich der Finanzmärkte zu generieren und hierdurch zur Lösung praktischer Probleme beizutragen. Aktuelle Forschungsschwerpunkte am CFR liegen in den Bereichen des Asset- und Risikomanagements. Als Kompetenzzentrum im Bereich der Finanzmarktforschung nutzt das CFR nicht nur die an der Universität zu Köln vorhandene Forschungskompetenz, sondern es werden auch internationale Forschungskooperationen gepflegt.

Die Verbreitung der Forschungsergebnisse wird in drei Richtungen angestrebt:

Erstens sollen die Ergebnisse auf internationalen Fachtagungen präsentiert und in renommierten Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht werden. Dies stellt die Basis für einen Reputationsaufbau des CFR in der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft dar.

Zweitens sollen die Ergebnisse des CFR den unmittelbar interessierten Praktikern zugänglich gemacht werden. Eine enge Kommunikation zwischen der Wissenschaft und Praxis erlaubt zum einen die Rückkopplung aus der Praxis in die Forschungsvorhaben und zum anderen einen frühen Zugang der Praxis zu neuen Erkenntnissen und Methoden.

Der dritte Verbreitungskanal für neue Forschungsergebnisse besteht darin, diese in Lehrveranstaltungen an Studierende weiterzugeben. Ziel ist hierbei die gezielte und selektive Zusatzausbildung in Finanzmarktfragen für Kölner Spitzenstudenten.

Daneben ist geplant, Top-Studenten in Forschungsprojekte des CFR einzubinden. Hierdurch wird eine enge Verbindung der Studierenden zum CFR und dort mitwirkenden Personen und Organisationen erreicht.

CFR Fördermitglieder      

www.cfr-cologne.de | © 2004-2017 | webmaster